The Championship Tractor Pull was so popular in its first year that 15 drivers signed up to compete in the inaugural pull before it was officially established.

Today the pull remains a counterpart to the much larger NFMS, but the CTP has since transformed into a premiere event of its own. Each year, a short list of pullers etch their names in history as they become part of an elite group of drivers earning a national championship title. With more than 75,000 fans packing Freedom Hall to experience five pulse-pounding performances in four days, the nation’s oldest indoor tractor pull has a vivid history to share with its loyal supporters.

  • In 1969 the CTP’s tractor pulling organization, WBHM, a name created from the original member’s initials, was created.
  • Popular WAVE radio and TV personality, Jack Crowner, was the voice of the CTP from 1969-1986. Lloyd Douglas, a competitor in the first CTP, and Butch Krieger later joined Crowner as announcers.
  • Sixty-six tractors competed in three classes (5,000, 10,000 and 15,000 pound tractors) in the first Championship Tractor Pull.
  • In 1970, the pull expanded from one to two days and the classes were reorganized to include: 5,000, 9,000, 12,000 and 15,000 pound tractors. The two-night event drew an attendance of more than 23,000.
  • In just five years, the CTP prize money increased from $5,700 to more than $20,000 for the 1973 pull.
  • The first truck class (6,000 lb. 4WD trucks) was added in 1977. This addition helped the pull sell out for the first time in the CTP’s history, when more than 64,000 fans attended the four-day event.
  • In 1978, the pull sold out for the second year in a row; however, this time it sold out weeks before the competition. The prize money also increased to $64,150.
  • Two new classes were added in 1979 (5,500 lb. tractors and 6,500 lb. modified 4WD gas powered trucks). Multi-engine modifieds were later added, drawing competitors who use anything and everything to boost power, including Allison Aircraft Engines.
  • A Saturday matinee was added in 1980 to offer 4-H and FFA members a better opportunity to attend a pull.
  • In the early 1980’s, Jerry Baird developed a measurement system using laser beams and a computer program to accurately record the distances pulled.
  • In 1980, Dan Cristiani began building, repairing and removing the dirt track for the CTP. He and his crew are still making and maintaining the championship dirt track today.
  • Also, in 1980, Butch Krieger began his work with the CTP as a roving interviewer. He later became the announcer, a position his son holds today.
  • The first 2WD truck class rolled on the track during the Saturday evening pull in 1982.
  • Numerous safety changes have taken place throughout the pull’s forty years. The drivers’ attire now consists of fireproof suits and racing helmets. Freedom Hall underwent a major renovation in 1984, providing much improved lighting and ventilation — as well as new scoreboards and additional seating. The chain rope that separated the first row of seats from the track was replaced with a concrete barrier. Kill switches were initiated by WBHM at the CTP, and neutral lights, which indicate whether or not the pulling vehicle is in gear, were also added.
  • Other features — including scatter shields on flywheels, wheelie bars and a second draw bar — are among the many safety precautions used by WBHM. Seat belts were introduced in the late 1980’s for the sled operators, who were then sitting on the back of the sled. Today’s operators have a much safer perch on the top of the sleds.
  • Since 1993, the top drivers in each class have gone on to compete in the Finals championship held on Saturday evening.